Bullet, Consider Yourself Bitten

I have just entered my first real writing contest, the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA).  You have no idea how nerve racking clicking that submit button was!  I spent the last week editing my manuscript one last time, then I spent this past Saturday on final revisions.  I think there will always be things I want to change or add, but I reached the point where I had to stop fiddling with it.  I can make edits up until February 5, or until they receive 5,000 submissions, but I refuse to look at it anymore.  I’ve checked (and re-checked) formatting, making sure my chapter numbers are all in order and all line up and the spacing didn’t get off, until my poor little fingers are worn out from typing.  I’ve read the thing so many times I could almost recite it verbatim.  Now, I can only wait.

The first round cuts will be announced on February 24, my birthday.  Until then, I’m going to put this manuscript out of my head and focus on my next.  Okay, mostly out of my head.  I still have a couple of partials with agents and I’m going through a final round of betas.  If I don’t make it to the next round of the ABNA I’m considering taking this manuscript to the Backspace Conference in New York in May.  I figured one more round of betas reading my revisions wouldn’t hurt.  Yes, I know I just contradicted my prior statement that I’m leaving it alone.  I’m mostly leaving it alone, that counts right?

To be honest, the most difficult part of the submission was the personal information.  I never know what to write in a bio or “personal anecdote”.  On the whole, most writer’s are fairly self-deprecating, so trying to come up with statements to sell myself is especially hard.  At least it’s over!  On to the next story.  Sally forth.  Tally ho!

Just a note: I’m not really expecting to get that far in the contest (see aforementioned self-deprecating comment), I’m just proud I talked myself into submitting my work.  I’ll keep you posted though.  Does anyone else have experience with ABNA?  I’d love to hear if you’ve submitted in the past and how it went, or if you submitted this year (if so, good luck!).

One thought on “Bullet, Consider Yourself Bitten

  1. Pingback: Nervous Wreck | Word (en)Count(ers)

Leave a Reply

