The Great Readomise

My husband and I are both readers. I don’t think I could’ve married someone who didn’t understand my love of books.

However…

We don’t always read the same things. I love mystery, suspense, horror, light sci-fi, light fantasy, contemporary, classics, literary…okay this list could go on and on.

Hubby is hard to keep up with. His tastes change all the time. Nonfiction has always been pretty consistent, but the topics vary. He went through a business book phase, a biography phase, a theology phase, a math book phase, I forget what dorky book he read last. He likes higher fantasy and more literary fiction than me, LES MISERABLES, DON QUIXOTE, ATLAS SHRUGGED.

There’s some cross-over, but mostly we keep our books separate. We’re constantly trying to get the other to read the books we love, though. It seldom works. I got him to read A WRINKLE IN TIME, I read LES MIS. But usually, we fail.

Until today.

226 years ago, our forefathers entered the Great Compromise to bring the Continental Congress together in agreement, and they ended up forming the branches of our government. Hubby and I came up with the Great Readomise to bring our books together. Not as dramatic, or important, but maybe it will bridge the gap of literary taste and tear down the walls that have divided our books for so long. (You can’t ever say I don’t have a flair for the dramatic, haha).

So here’s the deal: We each picked ten books we want the other to read. Both of us have a long lists of books we want to read, so we’ve agreed to alter between our books and the others’ picks. We have to read at least 50 pages, and then can veto. The other person then has the chance to replace the vetoed book with another. They don’t have to be read in order, as long as they’re all given a chance.

The only problem is I could have listed books all day and he only came up with five. So I stopped at six (I’d already drawn from a balance of genres and categories and couldn’t figure which one to cut, so my sixth stays in case he vetoes one).

What are the books? I’m glad you asked.

Hubby’s List:

ATLAS SHRUGGED, Ayn Rand

Atlas Shrugged

BONHOEFFER: PASTOR, MARTYR, PROPHET, SPY, Eric Metaxes

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy

THE FOUNTAINHEAD, Ayn Rand

The Fountainhead

THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING, J.R.R Tolkein

The Lord of the Rings (The Lord of the Rings, #1-3)

NO COMPROMISE, THE LIFE STORY OF KEITH GREEN, Melody Green, David Hazard

No Compromise

My List:

GONE GIRL, Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

THE GRAVEYARD BOOK, Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

AND THEN THERE WERE NONE, Agatha Christie

And Then There Were None

A TREE GROWS IN BROOKLYN, Betty Smith

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

LISEY’S STORY, Stephen King

Lisey's Story

I’ll update and let you know how this project goes. I already foresee some vetoes, but I promise to keep an open mind and give them all a fair chance. At least for the first 50 pages. ; )

5 thoughts on “The Great Readomise

  1. Hi. Your blog was linked to something I was reading, and I scrolled down and have enjoyed your posts. This is a great selection of books by both of you! I loved The Fountainhead in college but never got very far when I tried reading Atlas Shrugged with infants and toddlers. I think it’s fascinating your husband lists Rand as well as Keith Green and Bonhoeffer. Cool! The Graveyard book has one of the best opening lines I can remember ever reading. I adore A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I was ecstatic to find it in hardcover not too many months ago. I’d been checking for that every so often over the years. My old tattered-and-taped paperback has an inscription in it so I will always keep that copy, too. Your husband has to love The Fault in Our Stars. No way he can’t. Fun idea! My husband and I had a great time once simultaneously reading an old classic by Owen Wister called The Virginian. I was surprised how fun that was to read, and sharing the discovery with him made it all the sweeter. Happy reading!

  2. Pingback: The Great Reviewomise-Part I | Word (en)Count(ers)

Leave a Reply

